Gideon’s Bhagavad Gita

One of the first things I noticed upon entering my hotel room in Chennai was a copy of the Bhagavad Gita thoughtfully placed on the bedside table. It’s the first one I’ve spotted at any hotel I’ve stayed at so far, and it reminded me immediately of the ubiquitous Gideon’s Bible of states. I have to wonder… is there some sort of Hindu equivalent to the Gideons or is it just wishful thinking on my part? For now I’d like to simply imagine that there are scores of Hindu Gideons–and in my mind they even have a Krishnalike blue tint–who lovingly place the Good Gita in hotels from village to megacity all over India. I’m glad I’ll have a chance to enrich my temple visits by studying from the sacred texts. Rumba nundri to whomever left it for me to discover.

Leave a Reply

